Scholarships recognise Māori and Pacific student teachers’ achievements

Issue: Volume 98, Number 18

Posted: 24 October 2019
Reference #: 1HA1CZ

Twenty-nine Māori and Pacific student teachers have been awarded prestigious Kupe Scholarships in recognition of their high academic achievement and leadership potential.

The scholars were presented with their awards at a ceremony hosted by Associate Education Minister Kelvin Davis at Parliament in September.

The Kupe Scholarship, worth over $22,000, aims to attract highly accomplished Māori and Pacific students to the teaching profession and support them to become inspiring teachers in early childhood, primary and secondary education.

The scholarship funds course fees, provides an allowance, and offers mentoring support through the programme and recruitment support after graduation.

Successful scholars

The 23 Māori Kupe Scholars are: Jordan Bennett, Cinnamon Davies,
Stacey Davis, Kamiria Demuth, Rosaline Dennis, Taryn Dryfhout,
Tahlea Fong, Stephen Hay, Liam Hobson-Scott, Tamahae Keelan, Shontelle Knight, Maria Leilua, Pam Levi, Alyse Loveridge, Joy Maihi, Aria Macredie, Jodi Murray, Tia Pohatu, Ariana Patiole, Brendon Reddy, Letisha Sheck, Tamara Te Tuhi, Gerard Whaanga.

The six Pacific Scholars are: Louisa Afoa, Alexander Birchall,
Salome Fa’aso’o, Elisha Hulton, Edward Seiuli, Finau Tokalauvere.

BY Education Gazette editors
Education Gazette | Tukutuku Kōrero,

Posted: 2:06 pm, 24 October 2019

Get new listings like these in your email
Set up email alerts