Beginning Teacher Workshop: Mathematics Series

Professional development (PD) Wellington

Posted: 24 November 2021
Notice reference #: 1HARXz

 

Empowering beginning teachers and expanding knowledge.

Join our mathematics professional learning and development workshops in 2022.

About this event
Our team are excited to share with New Zealand primary and intermediate schools a new workshop series designed to support beginning teachers in their first few years of teaching in the classroom.

In 5 half-day workshops beginning teachers are empowered to set up and provide an effective mathematics teaching and learning environment for their ākonga. Guided by Cognition Education's mathematics teaching experts, in these sessions, teachers will develop their mathematics pedagogy in:

  • Arranging for learning: Setting up positive classroom norms and orchestrating mathematical discussions
  • Reasoning with number and algebra
  • Geometric thinking
  • Developing measurement sense
  • Investigating data and statistical inquiry and probability concepts.

Where and when? 

  Workshop 1 Workshop 2 Workshop 3 Workshop 4 Workshop 5
Wairarapa Thurs 10 March Thurs 24 March Thurs 7 April Thurs 12 May Thurs 26 May
Lower Hutt Wed 9 March Wed 23 March Wed 6 April Wed 11 May Wed 25 May
Wellington Central Fri 11 March Fri 25 March Fri 8 April Fri 13 May Thurs 27 May
 

Events summary

Wellington

09 March 2022 – 27 May 2022

Further information

Contact: Cognition Education

 (09) 638 4750

info@cognitioneducation.com

www.eventbrite.co.nz/cc/beginning-teacher-workshop-mathematics-series-25689