education.govt.nz

EOTC and Effective Safety Management Systems

Professional development (PD)

Posted: 24 June 2020
Notice reference #: 1HA8bt

Core EOTC PLD for schools seeking to understand and implement good practice processes in EOTC and to embed them in programmes and school-wide safety systems.

This PLD has been fully re-scheduled for term 3 following cancellation brought on by Covid-19 restrictions.

Who is this PLD for?

  • Schools with EOTC coordinators new to the role
  • Schools wishing to implement good practice systems or are seeking support with implementation and review
  • Schools whose staff have not previously engaged with the Ministry of Education EOTC Guidelines (2016) 
  • Schools with new staff .

The most benefit is gained when a school can send at least two people, including a combination of the senior leadership team, the EOTC coordinator, and a lead practising teacher. Ideally, a third person is a member of the school board.

Attendance is free to school staff and members of school boards through Ministry of Education support.  

PLD locations:

Hamilton: Wednesday 12 August followed by Monday 31 August

Wellington: Thursday 13 August followed by Monday 7 September

Blenheim: Friday 14 August followed by Thursday 10 September

Whangarei: Tuesday 18 August followed by Tuesday 8 September

Auckland: Thursday 20 followed by Monday 7 September

Invercargill: Tuesday 25 August followed by Tuesday 15 September

Christchurch: Thursday 27 August followed by Thursday 17 September  

Hawera: Monday 31 August followed by Tuesday 22 September

PLD aims:

  • To support understanding of key concepts that underpin safe quality teaching and learning across all EOTC environments through an understanding of the guidelines
  • To provide training on leading change consistent with accepted good practice
  • To build capacity within schools to maximise safety and learning across all EOTC contexts
  • To offer guidance in the implementation of key components of the guidelines.

For full details and registration go to EOTC & Effective Safety Management Systems 2020 at www.eonz.org.nz