This listing has expired.
View current notices, or visit the homepage.

Finalists Announced for the 2018 Prime Minister's Education Excellence Awards

Other New Zealand (nationwide)

Posted: 31 May 2018
Notice reference #: 1H9izX

15 finalists.

Thousands of winners.

Every single day, teams in schools and early learning services across the country work together to create brighter futures for our children and young people. And every Matariki, we recognise their achievements.

A total of 15 finalists were chosen for this year’s Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards. Their entries successfully demonstrated excellent education practices that support student achievement.

The finalists are from Auckland, Bay of Plenty, Waikato, Wellington, Hawke’s Bay, Gisborne and Canterbury.

They are:



Excellence in Engaging

Papamoa Kindergarten, Tauranga

Kāiti School, Gisborne

Flaxmere College Y7–13, Hastings

Toru Fetū Kindergarten, Porirua

Excellence in Leading

Glenavon School, Auckland

Kāiti School, Gisborne

Flaxmere College Y7–13, Hastings

St Paul’s Collegiate School, Hamilton

Excellence in Teaching & Learning

Hoon Hay School, Christchurch

Flaxmere College Y7–13, Hastings

De La Salle College, Auckland

Rotorua Girls’ High School, Rotorua

2018 Education Focus Prize

William Colenso College, Napier

John Paul College, Rotorua

Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu – Te Kura, Wellington

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in July. Each winner will receive a financial award and a professional development opportunity.

See what this year’s finalists achieved at

Further information

Contact: Prime Minister's Education Excellence Awards Team

 0800 PM AWARDS (0800 762 927)