FIFA U-20 World Cup comes to NZ

Issue: Volume 94, Number 6

Posted: 20 April 2015
Reference #: 1H9cqv

FIFA’s new sports based education programme has been launched to help teachers construct learning programmes around the FIFA Under 20 football world cup.

View and download the free education pack of FIFA’s new sports based (external link)education programme.

With 24 nations from almost every continent qualifying for New Zealand 2015, students can learn about countries as diverse as Myanmar, Panama and Uzbekistan, the footballing hotbeds of Brazil, Argentina and Germany.

Local Oragnising Committee chief executive Dave Beeche said the education pack should prove interesting for children, combining educational benefits with a sporting theme.

“What better way to learn about the world and the people in it than by educating students through the world’s most popular sport.

“The FIFA U-20 World Cup has been the launching pad to outstanding careers for some of the biggest names in the sport, and New Zealand kids will get to learn about some of the young men who will be stars of the future,” said Dave.

The tournament will run from 30 May – 20 June across seven New Zealand cities. Only the four African qualifiers have yet to be determined and this will be done at a tournament in Senegal later this month.

About the FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015

The FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015 is the largest football tournament ever staged in New Zealand. It will take place over three weeks from 30 May to 20 June with 24 countries participating. A total of 52 matches will be played in seven host cities – Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, New Plymouth, Wellington and Whangarei. An audience of more than 500,000 is expected to attend the event.

About the FIFA U-20 World Cup

The FIFA U-20 World Cup is the world championship of football for male players under the age of 20 and is organised by Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). The championship has been awarded every two years since the first tournament in 1977 held in Tunisia. In the 19 tournaments held, only nine nations have won the title. Argentina is the most successful team with six titles, followed by Brazil with five titles and Portugal with two.

BY Education Gazette editors
Education Gazette | Tukutuku Kōrero,

Posted: 6:08 pm, 20 April 2015

Get new listings like these in your email
Set up email alerts